Irchester County parkrun #1 – 02/11/2019

When I heard about a new parkrun starting up so close to my town, I couldn’t resist a visit! It was about a 20 minute drive to the start and the team at Irchester Country parkrun were welcoming us to their inaugural parkrun.

They had so many people in hiviz it was simple to get parked and find the start. I didn’t listen to the new runners briefing as I decided that I wouldn’t be first so I could just follow – especially as everyone would be new to this parkrun today!

We headed down to the start area to take a few photos before everyone else came down after the briefing. We didn’t really know what to expect but so far all we had seen was gravel & grit paths so we assumed it would be similar on the course.

I didn’t hear the parkrun countdown so everyone rushed forward before I knew what was happening! It was a tough start with about half a mile on an upward slope. Sure enough the whole course was on trail paths, it was muddy and slippy throughout.

There was plenty of marshals around who were all in surprisingly good spirits considering the awful weather! They were cheerfully sending us up and down the hills in the park, round loops and then back on ourselves. It was such a lovely, varied route.

Soon enough we could see the finish line and were able to put in a short sprint finish and through the slick finish line area and a few more selfies 🤳🏻

We headed to the cafe, who didn’t seem fully prepared for the parkrun rush! They do have the biggest slices of cakes I’ve ever seen though! Tasty.

Overall, I loved Irchester Country parkrun and I cannot wait to return!