Shires and Spires 55k Ultra – 01/06/2019

There’s only really one sentence needed to describe this event:
Running an ultra is like a really long, walking picnic.

Stuart and I booked this as a training event for a longer Ultramarathon that we have booked a few weeks after. It was our final chance to test kit and nutrition in race day conditions but it was also our first ultra marathon event.

We didn’t really know what to expect so I packed absolutely everything (including the kitchen sink) in the hydration vest, and Stuart the opposite (who was travelling light). We knew the aid stations had a small selection of food and we could refill bottles at them but other than that, we were in the deep end.

We turned up, collected our numbers and finishers tshirt (still think its weird that you get them at the start of some events) before my packing, unpacking and repacking began. I saw a few runners from other clubs and Instagram that I knew so hellos and well wishes exchanged.

The route was lovely, its a self navigated course so it helps if you can map read (I can’t but what’s the worst that can happen? Actually don’t answer that). Mostly there was people around us so we didn’t have to worry too much as you could see a trail of people in the distance, a bit like marching ants, but there was a couple of points we went wrong. Runners out on the course were all lovely and shouted you back if you went wrong.

Each checkpoint was no more than about 7 miles apart and were all well stocked with bite size chunks of cake, fruit, jellied fruits (you know the ones your granny always has from Christmas 3 years ago? Didn’t realise how much I’d enjoy them mid ultra!) and huge amounts of water and juice to drink or top your bottles up. Event crew were great, they took your bottles off and dealt with them!

I managed to check in a few times on Instagram with a couple of stories, I tagged some of the guys ahead of me hoping for an ice cream van or shop but the news came back that there was none. I was surprised when we reached one of the check points to spot Bryan sat down looking awfully relaxed, he should have left here probably an hour or more prior but told me he’d had to pull out due to injury. I was gutted for him, but he always makes such sensible decisions when it comes to running that I knew it was for the best. He wished me luck again and off Stuart and I went.

The last but one check point my mum was there, taking photos of us as we narrowly achieved the cut off time by only about a minute or so. It was a good job she was there because just minutes before I had been eyeing up a bush for my first ‘au natural’ wee but a dog walker had me panic at the last minute, now I had a car to duck behind to make it a little more civilised! So far whenever anyone has asked me about this event, I’ve told them about this moment, it seems to be the thing I’m most proud of!

Anyway we went off onto the last 9 mile leg, a loop back to here and then a hideous incline that went on for about 2 miles. Stuart managed to creep ahead of me at this point and I was texting the girls desperate for some kind of motivation to get me to the finish. Katie saved the day and came out to support me just when I needed a friendly face.

The finish line was quiet but a few supporters were still there, and the organisers had a microphone to call out runners name and numbers as you finished, so that was a nice personal welcome. The village hall (which was the start and finish) was still set up inside with cold drinks, hot drinks and a small selection of savoury snacks. We went back outside and had a nice long chat with the organiser who told us about his other events in the calendar which include the Northampton half marathon that I’m keen to try out!

Overall, for a smaller event, they had thought of everything without being excessive and it made it feel like a really nice, intimate event. The event crew at aid stations really took the time to help each person. The route, as I said, was stunning and a real variety of landscapes and terrain. I would recommend anyone take on this event as a first ultra.


One thought on “Shires and Spires 55k Ultra – 01/06/2019

Leave a comment